[Link to my personal Storify: https://storify.com/mlforbes]

After exploring both Storify and ScoopIt platforms, and using them to generate my own personal content, to curate my own topics, and to collectively put information together to tell different stories and concepts, I’ve come to the conclusion that even though I generally like both platforms equally, I prefer to use Storify over ScoopIt.

I think a bit behind my reasoning is that I’ve used Storify in the past and it is great to use as an outline for a piece or topic your trying to research/write/talk about, and it is also a place where you can publish your personal research on that topic instead of just gathering other people’s already published content. ScoopIt does a similar thing, in that you can curate your own topics, post your own photos, links, videos, articles, etc., but you can also put in content from the suggested content bar based on what you are researching. I like Storify because it is easy to navigate and laid out in a simple manner, except that I had a hard time finding specific users or topics that I was interested in. For example, I typed in ‘fashion’ into the search bar and what came up was a bunch of posts of Justin Bieber, which wasn’t relevant to the information that I wanted and made me think that I should have typed in something a bit more specific for what I was looking for.

I also like ScoopIt because it is generally easy to navigate, even though it is also hard to find specific users since it is content based instead of user based, but I like the layout of ScoopIt better than Storify, specifically in how each piece/topic is published. For example, I created a Food and the Environment piece for Storify and it is laid out like a blog, where one post precedes the next, whereas in ScoopIt, the posts are collectively together on a page and you can see multiple posts at one time, which I prefer.

I prefer Storify over ScoopIt in other ways as well, such as the ability to access multiple digital media platforms instead of a selected few. On Storify, I can access Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, Flickr, YouTube, Google+, etc. for free, but on ScoopIt, I can only access a few and have to pay for a membership if I want access to different venues. They are both easy to connect your accounts to, such as Facebook and Twitter, and they both come up with relevant, suggested content for the topics you are searching for.

I think Storify is more effective than ScoopIt because it tells a whole story and a whole vision rather than a topic with different types of ideas and content added to it. ScoopIt is more like a Tumlbr or a Pinterest in that you can categorize your interests, and post whatever you like to them, whether you are trying to convey a story or not. Storify is also simpler and quicker to use, and it is easy to find content for your story, if you are looking to publish things in a timely manner. What is also effective about Storify is that when you are using the different digital media platforms to find information, you can select what you are searching for on that platform. For example, if you are looking for users instead of titles or topics on Twitter, you can just type in a users name, and you can also do that on YouTube, Facebook, Flickr, etc.

Some elements of the stories/posts that drew me in were stories that had a clear concept/idea and used different media elements to relate that idea, instead of just using news, or photos, or videos. Also, it is nice that you can post your own comments on each piece of content you add to your Storify or ScoopIt to let the reader into a bit of your insight on each post. Since I am a very visual person, I do like when each post has a visual component accompanying the text so that I know what the post will potentially be about. With that, I noticed a lot of good images that were on other people’s Storify and ScoopIt stories, with many people posting their own images relating to their personal stories or using outside images so that the reader can understand and see what the curator is trying to say. Also, sometimes it is better to have a limited number of visuals for a story, or to arrange them in a way that you aren’t looking at photo after photo, so that the story flows better.

Some differences I noticed between Storify and ScoopIt and another digital media platform such as Tumblr or Pinterest, is that these 2 storytelling venues allow you to really explore and generate your own personal content, and to make your personal content prominent and important. For Tumblr and Pinterest, these platforms are mostly image based, with some quotes or videos being of some importance to its consumers as well, but I never see full-fledged text posts integrated on people’s Tumblr and Pinterest blogs. Pinterest allows you to categorize your interests and topics, like ScoopIt and Storify, but it doesn’t tell a story in these categories, but rather shares ideas, how-tos, or inspiration within these topics. Overall, I think Storify and ScoopIt are more effective to tell a whole story rather than bits and pieces, and you can really generate smart content with these platforms that can be accompanied by powerful visuals.

