Tags

, , , ,

Tumblr

I have been an active member on Tumblr for about 4 years now, so it was great that I got to evaluate this blogging/social media platform from a knowledgeable perspective, since I happen to be quite a fan of Tumblr. I think that out of all 3 blogging platforms that we were to look at and evaluate, Tumblr is probably the easiest, since I know a lot about it and how to use its different functions. Tumblr’s layout consists of a simple dashboard that has a feed, which is the content from the users you follow (original and reblogs) and also the content that you post yourself. On the main dashboard, it also has many links that are easily accessible, including access to switching over to your other Tumblrs, the amount of Posts you have, how many Followers you have, an Activity button (showing who is looking at your content and reblogging it), your Likes page, who you follow, and a link for finding other blogs. It is quite easy to get from one place to the next and if you want to change your profile pic, blog layout, etc. it is easy to go to the Customize Link or Settings to change how you want your blog and posts to appear. I think that out of all platforms, Tumblr has the most options for design and layout, and you can also access the HTML code and change whatever you like if you are code-savvy!

What appeals to me most about Tumblr is that it is easy to use, simple, open, and effective. It has different categories for the types of posts that you want to create, such as Audio, Link, Video, Photo, Text, etc. and it is really easy to publish your own content or to reblog/like other people’s content. I use Tumblr mostly for artistic expression, inspiration, and creative thinking, since I mostly look at single images and quotes. It definitely isn’t the space for publishing news or talking about new ideas/concepts/media. Tumblr definitely generates discussion, with many users asking questions or commenting on other Tumblrs about what they like, what they have problems with, and so on. I think Tumblr is the platform that is most used and viewed by the people I’m trying to reach, since it definitely taps into a younger audience. Examples I have of this are that I notice that when discussions are created on my feed, many people (as young as 13-14) are posting adult like content that many people would think that young people don’t get or don’t have an eye for. Also, many of my friends and other students have Tumblrs of some sort, whether it is for publishing their own content (personal photos, writings, etc.) or for just reblogging things that they like. I come to this conclusion because Tumblr is almost thoughtless in a sense. You don’t really have to evaluate the content you are publishing and you can just reblog, like, and follow other people really easily.

Blogger and WordPress

I’ve also used Blogger for about the same time that I’ve been using Tumblr, but I’m not as active on Blogger as I am on Tumblr. I think the reason is because I am lazier when it comes to posting content and really just want a feed of content from the people that I follow, so that I can re-post that instead of creating original posts. I think that Blogger is great in terms of narration, storytelling, archiving, and organizing. It is best used in more of a journalistic fashion than as a place to solely post photos, quotes, etc. I have always used Blogger to document specific ideas or events in my life, such as creating a blog when I went to study abroad in Madrid, or when I wanted to get into fashion I created a fashion blog with photos and blurbs about my outfits, design/designers I was interested in, and so on. I think both Blogger and WordPress are best used for publishing original content. I know that when there is something I want to get out there (either in words or visually), I think using a blog on these platforms is the best way to tell a story, idea, or concept. Blogger and WordPress really focus on greater content, such as posting multiple photos and paragraphs in one post instead of posting multiple smaller posts.

I think that the design and layout of both Blogger and WordPress are very similar, in that they are also simple and very basic to understand, but I find that it is hard to do things on one platform than it is the other (and vice versa). For example, I found it quite hard to embed a video on both Blogger and WordPress, since it wasn’t clear how to do it, it didn’t accept some of my video files, and when I searched in their YouTube section, the videos I wanted never showed up. I ended up being able to embed videos on both blogging platforms but it took me awhile to understand how to do them since they were different on Blogger and WordPress. I can’t say I prefer one over the other, but I always go to Blogger when I want to start a new blog, but I actually think I’ll try WordPress next time because I like the layout, it is easy to understand, and it is more appealing to me than Blogger. Blogger is great in that it also has a feed of the new content from the blogs that you follow, so it is easy to access that information quickly. The only thing is that Blogger is too simple and offers only a few design layouts for your blog. In Blogger, I do like that you can arrange the layout boxes for your blog pretty easily instead of having to do HTML code or get a whole other design layout to change the aesthetic of your blog. In WordPress, what I don’t like is that there are almost too many links and boxes on your dashboard that I think are unnecessary. I like that there are different dashboards for each blog, but there is too much going on in the homepage that I wish there were different pages for some of the things on the dashboard. WordPress doesn’t have a follow feed, unlike Tumblr and Blogger, which is kind of disappointing since you can’t see the content from the blogs that you follow.

Overall, Tumblr is definitely my favorite blogging platform to use since it is easy to understand, post content, and find others in communities and genres that you’re interested in. Blogger and WordPress are good for more specific ideas and concepts that you want to talk about and create, such as a fashion blog, a food/recipe blog, a blog about traveling, etc. I think that a wider audience can be reached on Tumblr than on Blogger and WordPress because there really is no way to fully search for other blogs that you like on Blogger and WordPress unless you know of friends and family who have blogs, look up blogs on Google, or have specific URL names to people’s blogs.

